Sentiment to Singing

by Michael

Having been to the pub for the first time in a long time, I was buoyed on my walk home by the company of ‘Nige’, a very drunk man who started by asking me where he was. ‘Stamford Hill’ did not seem to mean very much to Nige but he was undaunted and offered me a swig of his can of beer. I declined.

Eventually we decided that Seven Sisters was a decent enough destination for Nige and having pointed him in the right direction, we walked along for five or ten minutes. He offered me a swig; I declined. I was slightly suspicious, as I am of anything out of the ordinary, but he was lovely and I hope he got home safely.

We talked about accents and University Challenge and how many questions we think we could answer per episode and how it’s alright for Jeremy Paxman because he has the answers in front of him. Nige recommended I not wear my hat and shave off my beard. I declined. He offered me a swig of beer; I said I really didn’t want to.

We came to my road and we said goodbye.

There was no singing, and not much sentiment either if you believe the definition in the Discreet Dictionary…. But it was a happy, ephemeral encounter on the streets of London and I was glad of it.

